Oregon Criminal Defense: Robbery


Robbery is taking property from a person by force, or by the threat of force. Robbery charges are separate from burglary, which is simply entering with the intent to commit a crime. 

In Oregon, robbery charges are very serious. It is crucial that you understand the charges and all of your options. If you have questions, set up a free consultation with our Oregon criminal defense lawyers. 

Robbery Charges in Oregon

There are three degrees of robbery charges in Oregon. 

  • Robbery in the First Degree = Robbery I
  • Robbery in the Second Degree = Robbery II
  • Robbery in the Third Degree = Robbery III
Oregon Criminal Defense Robbery

Robbery I Criminal Charges

Robbery I is taking property from a person by force, while:

  • armed with a deadly weapon;
  • using, or attempting to use, a dangerous weapon; or
  • harming or trying to cause serious physical injury.

Robbery in the First Degree is a Class A Felony: the accused person faces up to 20 years in prison, and up to $375,000 in fines.

Robbery I is also a Measure 11 offense, which means a mandatory minimum prison sentence of 90 months. 

You should speak to a sexual assault criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. 

Oregon Law for Robbery in the First Degree: ORS 164.045

Robbery II Criminal Charges

Robbery II is taking property from a person by force, while: 

  • armed with a weapon, or
  • with an accomplice present.

Robbery in the Second Degree is a Class B Felony: the accused person faces up to 10 years in prison, and up to $250,000 in fines.

Robbery II is also a Measure 11 offense: the mandatory minimum prison sentence is 70 months.

Oregon Law for Robbery in the Second Degree: ORS 164.045 

Robbery III Criminal Charges

Robbery III is taking property—including a motor vehicle— from a person by force, or by the threat of force, while preventing resistance. 

Robbery in the Third Degree is a Class C Felony: the accused person faces up to five years in prison, and up to $125,000 in fines.

Oregon Law for Robbery in the Third Degree: ORS 164.395

Oregon Criminal Defense against Robbery 

Robbery charges in Oregon are very serious—but only if the state can prove its case. In order to convict you of robbery, the state will have to show that:

  • You were physically present at location of the alleged incident when it occurred; 
  • You and/or an accomplice used force or threats to take someone's property from them; and, 
  • That the property was actually taken from the person. 

However, it is difficult—or nearly impossible—to get a robbery charge reduced or dismissed without a criminal defense lawyer.

Don't take your chances with robbery charges: fill out the form for a free consultation. 

On your side

You deserve to have an experienced lawyer on your side. Our attorneys work hard to get the best possible result, every time.


Tullos Beckett LLC is based in Eugene, Oregon. We represent clients throughout Lane County, including: Eugene, Springfield, Coburg, Cottage Grove, Florence, Junction City, Creswell, Oakridge, Veneta.